It is very much possible for you to misplace your iPad, or in worst cases, it can be stolen. However, do not worry; iPads and iPhones have some unique features that can help you get back your lost or stolen device.
There is a feature called Find My iPhone in your Apple device, and if it is enabled, it will not be difficult for you to get your device back. Here is how to make use of the said service.
Enabling the Feature
If you find that you have lost your iPad, you can make use of the Find My iPhone feature to find the device and take actions to recover the device and keep the data safe. To do this,
- Sign in to com/find on a computer, or make use of the Find My iPhone app in some other iPad, iPhone, or iPod touch.
- Now you need to find the device. Open Find My iPhone, choose the device to see the location of the device on a map. If you find that the device is nearby, you can have the device play a sound. This will help you find the device.
- The next thing that you need to do is to turn on the Lost Mode, which will remotely lock the device with a pass-code, display a custom message on the lock screen of your lost iPad with your phone number, and keep track of the location of your device.
- If you have added any debit or credit cards to Apple Pay, the capability to make payments from these cards to Apple Pay will be suspended as soon as the device is put in Lost Mode.
- Now you will have to report to the local law enforcement department that your device is lost or stolen. Keep the serial number of your device at hand while reporting the same, as they may request the serial number.
- To prevent any unauthorized persons from accessing your data, you will need to erase your device remotely. When you erase your iPad, all data stored in it, including the credit or debit card details for Apple Pay will also be erased.
Remember that after erasing the device, you won’t be able to find it making use of Find My iPhone feature, but you will still be able to track it. Besides that, if you remove the iPad from your account after erasing it, the Activation Lock on your device will be turned off. Make sure to report your device loss to the wireless carrier, so that they will disable the account to prevent any unauthorized use.